2023-24 AEHL Scholarship Recipients Announced

RED DEER – Fourteen U18 AAA players have been selected as scholarship recipients for the 2023-24 season by the Alberta Elite Hockey League Scholarship Committee.

Chosen based on good character, hockey ability, and academic standing, each recipient is eligible to receive a $3,000 scholarship for post-secondary education.

Recipients for 2023-24 are:

Airdrie CFR Bisons Jack Drake
Calgary Buffaloes Brayden Gourley
Calgary Flames Brett O’Halloran
Calgary Northstars Gavin Pham
Calgary Royals Luke Abraham
Edmonton Jr. Oilers Blue Lucas Knorr
Fort Saskatchewan Rangers Jesse Li
Leduc Oil Kings Wylie Smith
Lethbridge Hurricanes Alexander Westlund
Lloydminster Bobcats Joshua Beaudette
Okotoks Oilers Brayden Thurlow
Red Deer Optimist Chiefs Cooper Moore
Sherwood Park Kings Aidan Veldman
St. Albert Raiders Rylan Hamstra

Established in 2006, through team fundraising and community support, the AEHL Scholarship Program provides eligible U18 AAA players with financial assistance to further their education at a recognized post-secondary institution of their choice.

Online applications are accepted annually beginning in January. Applications are evaluated and recipients selected by the Scholarship Fund Committee.

To date the scholarship program has awarded over $400,000 to U18 AAA athletes.