Return of Provincial Championships Presented by ATB

RED DEER – After a two-year hiatus due to COVID-19, the 2022 Hockey Alberta Provincial Championships, presented by ATB, are underway.

A total of 32 provincial champions will be crowned this year. Tournament competition will determine 29 provincial champions, with tournament champions emerging from a weekend of round-robin pool play and playoff action in their respective tournaments. In addition, three champions are decided through league playoffs.

Two titles will be awarded this weekend. Next weekend will see another 10 champions crowned. Fifteen more champions will be determined on April 3, along with two champions on April 10.

Provincial championship tournament action is underway this weekend, with the Alberta Female Hockey League’s U18 Female AAA (Calgary) and U15 Female AA (Okotoks). All games in both of these championships are being livestreamed on HockeyTV. Or catch the action live with the U18 Female AAA division facing off at Father David Bauer Arena and the U15 Female AA at Pason Centennial Arena. The puck drops on the championship games on Sunday, March 20 at 1:15 pm (U18 Female AAA) and 1:45 pm (U15 Female AA).

As well, finalists have been set for Alberta Elite Hockey League’s U18 AAA division, as the North Division champion Fort Saskatchewan Rangers are squaring off against the South Division champion Calgary Buffaloes in a best-of-five series. That series opens tonight at 6:45 pm in Fort Saskatchewan at the Jubilee Rec Centre. Game 2 is Sunday in Calgary at 1:45 pm at Cardel Rec South. All games will be livestreamed on HockeyTV.

Provincial championships set for March 24-27 are: Junior C (Sherwood Park), AFHL’s U18 Female AA (hosted by Red Deer in Ponoka), Alberta Elite Hockey League’s U15 AAA (Fort Saskatchewan), U15 AA (Beaumont), U15 Tier 1 (Canmore), U15 Tier 2 (Killam/Sedgewick), U15 Tier 3 (Provost), U15 Tier 4 (Lacombe), U15 Female A (Lethbridge), and U15 Female B (Camrose).

Provincial championships set for March 31 – April 3 are: Junior B (Wainwright), U18 AA (Calgary), U18 Tier 1 (Calgary), U18 Tier 2 (Westlock), U18 Tier 3 (Brooks), U18 Tier 4 (Slave Lake), U18 Female A (Sherwood Park), U18 Female B (Cold Lake), U13 AA (Strathcona), U13 Tier 1 (Grande Prairie), U13 Tier 2 (Rocky Mountain House), U13 Tier 3 (Marwayne/Dewberry), U13 Tier 4 (Sundre), U13 Female A (Picture Butte), and U13 Female B (Calgary).

April 7-10 will round out tournament play with the Senior AA (Fort Saskatchewan) and the AEHL’s U16 AAA (Grande Prairie).

As well, two other champions will be determined via league playoffs: Junior A and Junior Female.

Throughout the duration of the Provincial Championships Hockey Alberta will be running a progressive 50/50, tickets are available online.

For schedules, arenas, host organizations and contacts, and other event-specific information, check the Provincial Championships website at