Seventy-four AEHL Players named to 2022 Alberta Cup rosters

RED DEER – The 120 players have been named to the six teams that will participate in the 2022 Alberta Cup, including 74 who played in the Alberta Elite Hockey League’s U15 AAA division during the 2021-22 season. Players will hit the ice at the Gary W. Harris Canada Games Centre in Red Deer from April 28 – May 1.

The Alberta Cup features the top 2007-born male athletes from across the province. The competition is a major step in the identification process for athletes, coaches, officials and trainers in the Team Alberta program. As well, many players will be chosen in the upcoming 2022 Western Hockey League Prospects Draft.

Rosters were selected following three regional camps held April 1-3 in Spruce Grove, Red Deer and Calgary. Two teams were formed from each camp.

2022 Alberta Cup Roster > | 2022 Alberta Cup Schedule >

“We were thrilled to be back in the arena to host the regional camps and impressed at the level of talent on display,” said Mike Kraichy, Hockey Alberta’s Manager of Elite Male Hockey. “As we name the players who will participate in this year’s Alberta Cup, their work is just beginning as they prepare for the competition while vying for a spot in the Team Alberta program.”

The Alberta Cup is a four-day, tournament-format competition. Round-robin action begins on Thursday, April 28 with five games. There are four games on Friday and three on Saturday, with the finals set for Sunday. This year’s Alberta Cup marks the return of the competition since 2019.

Approximately 80 players from this year’s competition will be selected to attend Team Alberta’s Provincial Camp in July, with a chance to represent their province at the 2023 Canada Winter Games in Charlottetown, P.E.I.

Officials Named to Alberta Cup

Hockey Alberta is pleased to announce the 12 officials who will be working the 2022 Alberta Cup.

Spencer Acheson (Edmonton), Parker Adam (Edmonton), Kyle Edwards (Sherwood Park), Jared Gilbeau (St. Albert), Brennen Jasonson (Sherwood Park), Andrew Lattimer (Calgary), Dylan Leaney (Edmonton), Flynn McGeough (Calgary), Dylan Ouellet (Okotoks), Jack Saunders (Sherwood Park), Jesse Wood-Schatz (Leslieville), and Dyson Zukiwsky (Red Deer) will all be skating into the next step of their officiating careers.

The Alberta Cup is the first step in the Hockey Alberta Official’s Development Program. The 12 officials were selected based on their performance at the three Alberta Cup Regional Camps recently held in Spruce Grove, Red Deer and Calgary.